Buda-trip-pest

Holding the ticket on my right hand and the bag on my back, I stepped in the airplane. I might be one of the lucky that could fly each month to a place. But it has been some time since the last trip,primarly for leisure. And so it begun…!

The first surprise came with the cold wind.Great change I might say from the 29° Celcium in the South to the 7° Celcium of Budapest.Thankfully I was well prepared and my coat kept me warm as I looked for the way to the place that was going to be my base for the next days.In contrast with the underground metro, this of Budapest seemed quite old and the”mind the gap” sound-trademark was missing.

As I found my apartment and made myself comfortable, I took a walk by the river. Sun was down and afternoon just passed by for a short time until the night was there and…  I was in front of the House of the Parliament.

The lights around this magnificent building reveal  its beauty and the details of the architecture that went through both World Wars and still catches the eye of each visitor after more than a century.

Next day, despite the rain, got my umbrella and went for  a walk tour around the historic city centre of Budapest. Different buildings were standing some meters above from my head, with tourists at times posing for photographs (sometimes a little bit too much creativity for their pose).

Not so far from the Chain Bridge, one of the oldest and biggest bridges in Europe,  with lions guarding its entrances, the basilica of St. Stephen’s could be viewed, standing with majesty and greatness. Similar characteristics could be found in the interior, where people from different countries were amazed with the design and the marble sculptures that could be found in different corners inside the church.

Next morning, the Buda part was in the program. Starting from the Margarita’s island, passed from different districts and houses that didn’t lack in anything to the Pest side. But nobody should miss the old city among the walls with the Fishermen’s bastion, the Mattias’ church and the view from the Buda’s castle. And so didn’t I.

The last day before the return was more relaxing since it was spent almost all in the Budapest Zoo. A common visitor could admire from ducks and deer to anacondas,armadillo, lions and elephants.The only thing is that I felt a little bit for those big animals stuck in places that will never be a proper substitute of their natural environment. Gorillas seemed more lucky though.

Leaving Budapest and after an enjoyable trip in another country I realised how I missed travelling outside from my homeland, despite the fact that I was living abroad for a while. Wanderlust = the  desire to travel, this word just describes me without any other description. This city has captured me and I might be back in Budapest one day, one out of other Promises.

Farewell Budapest.

One thought on “Buda-trip-pest

Leave a Reply

